Britain’s national holidays

Bank holidays in Britain vary from nation to nation, and can reflect a change in prices, as well as offering additional seasonal activities for clients to enjoy. Below are the dates for 2020 and 2021. Unless otherwise stated, these bank holidays affect England, Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales. We’ve also included school breaks so you are aware of when the peak holiday periods occur.

2020 Bank holidays

  • New Year’s Day: 1 January
  • St Patrick’s Day (Northern Ireland only): 17 March
  • Good Friday: 10 April
  • Easter Monday (Wales, England and Northern Ireland only): 13 April
  • Early May Bank Holiday: 4 May
  • Spring Bank Holiday: 25 May
  • Orangeman’s Day (Northern Ireland only): 12 July
  • Summer Bank Holiday (Scotland only): 3 August
  • Summer Bank Holiday (Wales, England and Northern Ireland only): 31 August
  • St Andrew’s Day (Scotland only): 30 November
  • Christmas Day: 25 December
  • Boxing Day: 26 December

2020 School holidays (these may vary slightly by region)

School holiday Start date End date
Winter half term Monday 10 February Friday 21 February
Easter Monday 30 March Friday 17 April
Summer Monday 20 July Tuesday 1 September
Autumn half term Monday 26 October Friday 30 October
Christmas Monday 21 December Friday 1 January

2021 Bank holidays

  • New Year’s Day: 1 January
  • St Patrick’s Day (Northern Ireland only): 17 March
  • Good Friday: 2 April
  • Easter Monday (Wales, England and Northern Ireland only): 5 April
  • Early May Bank Holiday: 3 May
  • Spring Bank Holiday: 31 May
  • Orangeman’s Day (Northern Ireland only): 12 July
  • Summer Bank Holiday (Scotland only): 2 August
  • Summer Bank Holiday (Wales, England and Northern Ireland only): 30 August
  • St Andrew’s Day (Scotland only): 30 November
  • Christmas Day: 25 December
  • Boxing Day: 26 December

2021 School holidays (these may vary slightly by region)

School holiday Start date End date
Winter half term Monday 15 February Friday 19 February
Easter Monday 29 March Friday 9 April
Summer Thursday 5 July Friday 17 August
Autumn half term Monday 18 October Friday 22 October
Christmas Monday 20 December Friday 7 January